Erase Personal Data Screen

ClassicPress has a feature to delete a user’s personal data upon verified request. Deleted data is permanently removed from the database. Erasure requests cannot be reversed after they have been confirmed.

Since this tool only gathers data from ClassicPress and participating plugins, you may need to do more to comply with erasure requests. For example, you are also responsible for ensuring that data collected by or stored with the 3rd party services, that your organization uses, gets deleted.

The Erase Personal Data screen is accessible via the administration > Tools > Erase Personal Data.

Erase Personal Data screen

Using Erase Personal Data toolLink to this section

Sending a requestLink to this section

The Erase Personal Data tool uses email validation to send a user’s erasure request to an administrator.

The first step is to specify username or email address and click “Send Request”. If the request initiated successfully, the request will be shown in the table and the Status will be set on “Pending”.

Erase Personal Data screen - pending status

The user will receive the following mail.

[Site Name] Confirm Action: Erase Personal Data

Hello,

A request has been made to perform the following action on your account:

Erase Personal Data

To confirm this, please click on the following link:
https://www.example.com/wp-login.php?action=confirmaction&request_id=1971&confirm_key=sBWZBjexw4sDgAeOrjIo

You can safely ignore and delete this email if you do not want to
take this action.

Regards,
All at Site Name
https://www.example.com

If the user clicks the link in the mail, the confirmation modal below is shown.

Erase Personal Data screen - confirm request

At the same time, the status of the erasure request will be changed to “Confirmed”. The “Next Steps” column shows a link called “Erase personal data”.

Erase Personal Data screen - confirmed status

Erasing personal dataLink to this section

When clicking the link called “Erase personal data” the data is permanently removed from the database. There is no confirmation prompt. Clicking the link means erasing the data.

At the same time, the status of the erasure request will be changed to “Completed”. The “Next Steps” column shows a link called “Remove request”, which lets you remove the request itself.

Note that the user will not be removed. If requested, the administrator can do this via the Users Screen.

Erase Personal Data screen - completed status

To confirm a succesful erasure, the user will receive the following mail.

[Site Name] Erasure Request Fulfilled

Hello,

Your request to erase your personal data on Site Name has been completed.

If you have any follow-up questions or concerns, please contact the site administrator.

Regards,
All at Site Name
https://www.example.com

Erasing without sending requestLink to this section

There are circumstances you want to erase personal data without letting the user know, or without prior confirmation from the user. In that case you should disable the confirmation request that is send by email. Do not check the “Confirmation email” box. By doing this, your erasure request immediately gets the “Confirmed” status. This will let you erase the personal data.

Filtering OptionsLink to this section

Above the table are links to All (erasure requests), Pending, Confirmed and Completed, that when clicked, will cause just the erasure requests of that type to be displayed in the underlying table.

Erase Personal Data screen - filters

Using Selection, Actions, and ApplyLink to this section

SelectionLink to this section

This screen allows Bulk Actions to be performed on one or more erasure requests selected in the table. For Bulk Actions to be performed on multiple erasure requests at once, those erasure requests must be first selected using the checkbox to the left of the erasure request.

ActionsLink to this section

Actions describe the process to be performed on particular erasure requests. There are two styles of actions that will be referred to as Bulk Actions and Immediate Actions.

  • Bulk Actions
    These actions can be performed on one, or more erasure requests, at one time, if those erasure requests have been previously selected. Bulk Actions are available as choices in the Bulk Actions select box, above the table.
  • Immediate Actions
    Immediate Actions (also known as Quick Edits) are performed immediately, on an individual erasure request. Hovering the mouse cursor over the erasure request row reveals the actions under the Requester column.

Erase Personal Data screen - filters

The available Bulk Actions are:

  • Resend confirmation requests – This action lets you resend the confirmation email to all selected requesters.
  • Mark requests as completed – This action lets you change the status to “Completed” for the selected users.
  • Delete requests – This action will permanently delete all selected erasure requests.

And the available Immediate Actions are:

  • Force Erase Personal Data – This action will force erase the personal data, even if the status is still “Pending”.
  • Complete request – This action lets you change the status to “Completed”.

ApplyLink to this section

After one or more erasure requests are selected, and after a Bulk Action is specified, the apply button performs the given action on the selected erasure requests. Remember, prior to executing actions, one or more erasure requests must be selected, as described before.

Erased Personal DataLink to this section

To confirm what data will be erased by this tool, go prior to erasing the data to the Export Personal Data screen and export the Personal data of the specific user. To avoid confusion with that user, do not check the “Confirmation email” box.

Last updated on October 11th, 2026 at 01:30 pm